Making it happen: The first step to success

April 5, 2007

I met this man a week ago. Barely, in the sort of way one person meets another, and one walks away with an inspirational, perhaps life-changing idea and the other thinks for a brief moment, “that is a woman wearing a brown suit,” and then moves on to the next multi-thousand dollar speaking engagement never to think of the moment again. Why does this matter, you might be thinking? What’s the payoff? Well, it’s personal, mostly, but if you’re reading this, it’s why you are.

 

It’s the crux of a lot of what’s been happening in my life lately. I’ve wanted to say something, do something, be something, for years, but haven’t gotten out there and opened it up for anyone ever before, not in any real way. Why, who knows. I’ve let business opportunities slip past because I was too afraid to move forward. I’ve gone through an eight-hour quarter life crisis and realized that I’m nothing that I thought I would be and that will never change for me unless I change it myself. I’ve sat and thought about our lives, our culture, our being plugged in, while this turmoil of it all overwhelmed me, and I kept it all inside, afraid not of what it would become if I let it out, but of what it wouldn’t become in a time where anyone can be an expert and there have been so many revolutionary ideas in the last five years alone it makes people like myself languish, thinking there aren’t really any good ideas left to pursue.

 

That changes today. For me, at least.

 

Thanks to Seth Godin for his encouragement, though not by any means exclusively to me. But thanks to him for innovating and breaking ground and telling other people like me and thousands of other faithful readers to just DO IT.

Maybe I’ll write an e-book as he recommends, maybe I’ll just blog about things I care about or think about or need to get out of my head. But I’ll do it. Right here. I’ve decided to finally do it, as he admonished months ago, to “Make Something Happen. Now. . . . Today.”

 

Here goes. Stay tuned for the Parable of the LittleRedSuit.

7 Responses to “Making it happen: The first step to success”


  1. […] Making it happen: The first step to success In my inaugural post at Little Red Suit, I take up Seth Godin’s challenge to “Make Something […]


  2. […] was so raw, I didn’t care that the technology I was using made my foraging through the unknown process of building a blog the physical equivalent to chopping my way through unchartered rainforest with a […]


  3. […] was so raw, I didn’t care that the technology I was using made my foraging through the unknown process of building a blog the physical equivalent to chopping my way through uncharted rain forest with a butter […]


  4. […] Then, the fear hit, and I went through a fierce dip. A few months later, after lots of skepticism and a radical journey into embracing my own byline and all the uncertainty that came with it, my first blog was officially born. […]

Leave a Reply

