Life at the intersection of life

July 6, 2007

As you may have read previously on this blog, I aspire to do a lot. Including blogging, but a lot more than that, in my personal life as well as my career. As a woman who aspires to one day work at home where my children are and have a career as well, I admire greatly women who are successful at that very thing. Women like Penelope Trunk. I’ve been blogging about her and her posts a lot lately. I’ve been reading her blog every day and am inspired so much by her insights as well as her “brazen” way of talking about her actual life, warts in all, too.

That’s why when I read her post today about her first day of marriage counseling, I stopped in my tracks and sat down to write this. I had been brainstorming several great blog topics this week that I wanted to get fleshed out and posted, along with some guest articles for other blogs and an article I’m co-authoring with another blogger. I have a lot of ideas, and a lot on my plate, so I work on them whenever I can – including days off and “vacation.” What can I say, I’m an eager Gen Yer. That’s apparently what we do.

But after reading Penelope’s post, I realized that today isn’t a day for that sort of thing. It’s a day for being real and honest, and spending time with those dearest to me. Today I traveled home for the funeral of a dear old high school friend who died tragically last week, 8 months pregnant. I’m sitting here, writing, wondering what’s wrong with me that after the funeral, I checked my work e-mail, read a few blogs, checked my stats, and wrote this while my boyfriend sits in front of me having a conversation with my dad about chess and HDTVs. Maybe blogging and working is a way for me to get away from the frustrations of losing a friend so tragically and dealing with all those pains. But it doesn’t change the fact that I should be sitting there, next to  him, rolling my eyes about guys and electronics and worry about my blog and my network and all those ideas another day. So I will. I’ll keep trying to figure out how to balance life and aspirations and living in the real while dreaming wild dreams. But for now, I’m going to go have dinner with my family.

Leave a Reply

