Who Don’t You Want Reading?

August 14, 2007

Blogging. It’s a commentary on the things people care to write about, so of course, sometimes it intersects our lives. It’s a struggle, I imagine, for most everyone who puts their thoughts on public display to deal with linking “real” life to blog life. For me, it’s been interesting to see my audience grow and for members of my personal network to become fans of my blog. It’s great to have people I know and interact with read my blog. Especially since I see it as an extension of myself.

It’s also interesting, at times, like when my dad references a post I wrote in casual conversation like he did this weekend (as though he is referencing a one-to-one conversation we had personally rather than him reading something I wrote). It’s curious to have people introduce me to new people and mention my blog.

I enjoy it, but these things do make the reality and issues of blogging very dynamic. So, since I’ve thought about this a lot, I have a question for those of my readers who blog – who are you most nervous to have read your thoughts? Who haven’t you told about your blog? Who will you never tell? And for those who don’t blog, does it have anything to do with certain people discovering it? I’m curious to see what you think! You can leave a comment or feel free to vote in the online poll.

Who are you most nervous to have read your blog?

  • Me later on in life.
  • My co-workers.
  • My roomate.
  • First time visitors.
  • My parents.
  • My significant other.
  • My boss.
  • Prominent bloggers.
  • Personal friends.
  • Blog peers.

Vote or View Results

6 Responses to “Who Don’t You Want Reading?”


  1. Tiffany, I picked co-workers out of the choices. While I wouldn’t mind if co-workers found my blog, I don’t actively promote my blog to co-workers. I’m not sure why. Maybe because they’re on some strange middle-ground where we interact as friends, but they don’t quite know me that way… well, anyway, everyone else on the list I’d be happy to have visit my blog, especially the prominent bloggers 😉


  2. Interesting. I have to say for me, I would have had to have answered differently for each step in my blogging journey. I think that right now, I have overcome the hurdles of telling most of these people – except for my immediate co-workers – outright anyway. They may read it – they know I have a blog and how to use Google, after all! But they’ve never commented here or in real life, so I don’t know.

  3. DJ FunkyGrrL Says:

    Generally, my blog isn’t that deep into my personal life. I own an online company but if I didn’t I’m not sure I would desire my co-workers to read my blog. People one knows in person have a set impression of you and anything that counters that for some is weird

  4. elysa Says:

    I have actually had some struggles decided what to post based on this exact issue. I find myself (like many twenty somethings) having to decide if I should stay in a job that seems to be holding me back or move on. I know this would be a great blog topic, I have done a lot of research. But, the problem is, until I make the choice and find a new job I wouldn’t want my boss or someone at work to stumble across a post debating whether or not to stay at that company.

  5. Tiffany Says:

    Elysa –
    You’re right in that you’re not alone about this issue. I’ve talked to a lot of twentysomethings who are hesitant to blog about their work life, especially when it comes to issues of whether or not to leave.

    In fact, it’s often a line on which people decide whether or not to author their blog with their own name.

    For me, since blogging is also about professional development and personal branding, I make a conscious effort to consider all the ramifications of what I write, and I can tell you, were I in your situation, I probably wouldn’t blog about whether or not I was going to leave my job until after I’d made the decision and left. I guess that doesn’t help you on your decision whether or not to leave, but that’s what I would do regarding the blogging issue.

  6. Sarah Dillon Says:

    Tiffany, I really liked this post. I think it addresses a very real issue for many would-be bloggers. I was most scared (yes, scared!) of my colleagues reading my blog. These people might know me from within a work environment, but that’s not to say I’m sharing my thoughts and opinions on industry issues and happenings with them. It takes courage to nail your colours to the post and say “this is what I think about XYZ”. It was only after a lot of thinking that I decided to take the risk and go for it anyway. Even then, I blogged under a pseudonym for a few months until I felt confident about what I was doing. My profession tends to be a very small world and I just hated the thought of getting something “wrong” and then having people in my industry, colleagues of colleagues and so on, muttering and sniggering into their hands for years and years to come… then I gave myself a mental shake, pulled myself out of my self-absorbed well of fear and just got on with it. I’m only slowly starting to attract attention from within the industry so it’s still feels pretty new, but very, very exciting!!

    Thanks again for the post, I really enjoyed it.

    Sarah

Leave a Reply

