Invent Yourself. Forget the “Re”

August 22, 2007

Well, folks, August is inventor’s month, according to various web sites that I Googled dutifully as I researched the veracity of this fact before posting it here, just to be sure.  Even if it weren’t, I think now would be as good a time as any to talk about invention.

But not just any invention. Your own personal invention. Yep. Inventing you.

Here’s why: I’ve hear a lot of young professionals talking about trying to figure things out. Life things. Job things. Career things. Future things. You know, things. As twentysomethings, thirtysomethings, we’re all in the thick of it.

 

And we’re a bit impatient. It seems the process of “discovering yourself” just takes too long. Young professionals don’t want to look back on life at fifty and say “I wish I’d known this then.” We don’t want to live our lives, form our careers, all to get to a place where we need to “reinvent” ourselves mid-life just to become what we always wanted to be. No thanks. So we reflect now, in our twenties, with our options open. But that, as it turns out, is a lot of pressure. So much, it can get a little overwhelming.

 

That’s where the quarter life crisis comes in. As a generation, we job hop. Even as we enter the workforce, we wonder about a career change, about grad school, about options. Waiting to discover yourself? It’s too passive. We won’t put up with it. We want to take action now, that’s the cry, the call. . . So where to begin?

 

It’s really a matter of dropping the “re” out of your picture of the future and inventing yourself now. You have the power. So, go for it. Pick something. Pursue it. Invent you. Because the truth is, you can invent yourself now or reinvent yourself later. Either way, reinvention is always an option. . . So, really, what do you have to lose?

In this spirit, I’m going to be highlighting some people who are great at personal invention. Many of them are young, not even twentysomethings yet themselves. Many are inventing themselves through blogs, start-up businesses and books. They’re not waiting to figure things out later, they’re inventing themselves now.

They’re Heroes of Personal Invention. Stay tuned!

10 Responses to “Invent Yourself. Forget the “Re””

  1. Judy Says:

    At age 42 I “invented” myself when I picked up a guitar for the first time and decided to start a rock band, or make that, a “mom” rock band. Surprisingly, the one thing in my life that I didn’t consider myself to be an expert at made me infamous. The Mydols, my band of four Midwestern housewives/mothers drew the attention of the national media and soon I found myself in the pages of the supermarket tabloid “The Sun” whilst shopping for Lunchables.

    Even though I am not much of a musician, being in The Mydols gave me confidence. In learning to promote the “band”, I learned how to promote myself. I am now in the process of writing a memoir called “Rock Stat Mommy” that will be published in April 2008 by Citadel Press.

    I completely agree with forgeting the “re” and just inventing yourself. And I am proof that it is NEVER to late.

    Check out The Mydols at http://mydols.com


  2. It definitely makes sense to start inventing ourselves early. It’s easy to get sucked into a job because it pays well and is a decent thing to do… and then wake up years later feeling lost because you never found anything that you actually wanted to do.

    You’re right that it’s better to invent ourselves when we’re young, instead of waiting until later to figure everything out.

  3. Tiffany Says:

    @ Judy – Thanks for sharing your fabulous story! I checked out the site – and you Mydols rock! It’s true that it’s never too late to invent yourself. Beautiful. I’m inspired to hunt down a piano and start playing again.

    @ Katie – Thanks for the comment! I enjoy your site – readers who haven’t aleady should check out getfreshminds.com.


  4. Hi Tiffany,

    Love your blog 🙂 This post is a fantastic take on how us younger generations are feeling about our lives – often discouraged about the options we currently see. What you suggest here is an idea that can be so empowering for young people, that is: ditch the models and create the mold yourself. I am going through this as someone in the nonprofit field where linear career paths are virtually nonexistent. What’s a Gen Y to do? I’ve found some direction in blogging and looking outside of my role models to map my own path. I don’t know what it is exactly yet, but it’s gonna be all mine.

  5. Tiffany Says:

    Rosetta,
    I think it is truly empowering to take responsibility for your career and to realize that following a path or a model isn’t the only way to “become” something. And you’re right – blogging is a great way to create direction for yourself, even if it’s just in the way the journey of it all helps you appreciate your own power over your ideas and your choices. As a content creator on a blog, there are a lot of choices to make, but you also get some very immediate, impactful results, through relationships and broadened ideas. Thanks for stopping by. Look forward to more from you!


  6. […] you’re going to define yourself a certain way, then go for it. Try meaningful […]


  7. […] 10th, 2007 The path to personal invention begins by answering this […]


  8. […] blogging, sister! Tiffany over at Little Red Suit wrote a great post last week on inventing (not re-inventing) yourself. What she says is so relevant for young nonprofit leaders that can’t see a linear ladder to […]


  9. What an inspirational post. I just graduated last March and I am currently in the process of looking for my first job. But while I wait for someone to call and ask me for an interview, it made me think if I should already work now or should I pursue a dream I had when I was a child or get a master’s degree. These has been my dilemma for the past several weeks. And this post made me realize that I should know my priorities and pursue what I really want.

  10. Effejeclaxege Says:

    Hello all! I like this forum, i found numberless interesting people on this forum.!!!

    Large Community, good all!

Leave a Reply

