The Power of Pause

November 25, 2007

This weekend, I didn’t get all those posts written like I’d hoped. I didn’t get the garage cleaned or find time to finish my Christmas shopping. I didn’t rake up the leaves or do any yard work. I didn’t do a lot of things I planned on.

Instead, I made sugar cookies and put up my Christmas tree with my family. I went to visit my grandparents and played a very intense game of Risk for four hours only to call a draw. I learned to play Farkle when my boyfriend taught it to – everyone, including me, my parents, grandparents, brother, sister, and their significant others. I cooked a great big pot of soup and hand made about $500’s worth of jewelry for a Christmas charity fundraiser. I ate Sunday brunch at a new hole in the wall Brazilian cafe.

I took time out from my to-do lists, my goals, my constant go. And it was wonderful.

My only complaint is that I didn’t give in to it fully until late in the game. And mostly, that means I worried for a long time about all those other things I wasn’t getting done.

But here I am, at the last 30 minutes of my holiday weekend, thinking how it was not at all what I planned but at the same time just what I needed. A bit of a pause from the normal.

Because there’s power in pause. It gives clarity, retrains focus onto what really matters, and gives you energy and excitement. So, if you haven’t already in the past few days, give yourself permission to relax, to reflect, to marinate in all the great things of life . . .  to pause.

Get ready, Monday. Here I come.  

4 Responses to “The Power of Pause”


  1. I’ve spent a lot of time reading blog posts this morning, and I can’t tell you how many I came across that were similar to yours. Tells you that we’ve all gone a little overboard and found that the Thanksgiving break was just what we needed. Why do we feel guilty for playing games or just doing nothing? Maybe as we work ourselves into the holiday frenzy we should remember the words you have written here. The power of pause may be the greatest gift we can give others…and ourselves.

    Anita Bruzzese
    http://www.45things.com


  2. Hi Tiffany,

    I just recently got around to reading a bunch of your posts on this site. I *really* like it and find it quite relevant to my life as a “working woman.” Congratulations on the success and on your engagement (that I saw on facebook)! I started a new blog (listed below), so if you get a chance, come check it out.


  3. @ Anita – I agree – there’s definitely major overload that leads for guilt for a lot of us. Glad the concept resonated with you. Hope your holiday season offers many moments of pause!

    @ Jimmie – Thanks for checking out the blog! Looks like you have been getting a lot of snow your way! Look forward to continue the conversation with you!


  4. […] December 3, 2007 Coming home to a kicked in door and muddy footprints all over my house wasn’t exactly the Monday I’d had in mind. […]

Leave a Reply

